Meet the Interns: Fall 2015

The fall semester is almost at a close and we thought we would take the opportunity to introduce our incredible intern team!  If you’re interested in joining our intern team in the future, see our criteria here!

SherSha AtifSherShah

Where are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?
I am from Peshawar, Pakistan. I study International Relations & International Communications at Boston University.

Based on the Food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
Based on the food alone, I would like to visit Turkey.

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
A movie based on my life would be called “Connect the Dots: The 3rd Culture” and the actor that would play me would be a young Marlon Brando.

What were you for Halloween?
For Halloween, I was a monkey.

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
What I love most about UNAGB is the team enthusiasm for the collaborative work that we do.

Siobhan Billings Pearce

10470600_731891333537978_2061723635056516309_nWhere are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?
I am from Norridgewock, Maine and I go to Emmanuel College where I am a senior double majoring in International Studies: Sustainability and Global Justice and Spanish.

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
One time I saw Andrew Zimmern on Bizarre Foods eat a brains and liver soup from a street vendor in Bangkok and he couldn’t stop talking about how delicious it was. I’ve dreamed of eating my way across Thailand ever since.

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
A movie about my life thus far would be called Pero, like, and would tell the story of my travels and struggles through Spanish-speaking nations with my limited Spanish.  Emma Stone would play me because I am a ridiculous person.

What were you for Halloween?
I was Kim Possible. Call me beep me if you want to reach me.

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
I love that my supervisors trust me with serious tasks. I feel that my work here is appreciated, I feel supported and it is wonderfully fun to see a project you’re working on be finished to completion and to see the people it affects.  I also like the other interns.  We learn a lot from each other.

Linnea Erickson

Linnea

Where are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?
Mount Desert Island, ME. Emmanuel College. Political Science with minors in History and Middle Eastern studies.

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
EVERYWHERE

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
“Uh-oh” played by Haley McKinnon

What were you for Halloween?
I was “Irish” for Halloween. Wore green, gave myself two clover sharpie tattoos, and kept the red hair. I rocked it.

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
Honestly, I love the people I work with

Shehab Fass

ShehabWhere are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?
I’m originally from Egypt but I moved to the U.S three years ago. I go to Alnoor academy (high school) and planning to major in international relations next year!

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
TURKEY

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
SHEEZUS, Daniel Radcliffe

What were you for Halloween?
A STUDENT APPLYING TO COLLEGE REFINING HIS COMMONAPP

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
I love the flexibility and the inclusion of all interns. The teamwork is AMAZING and we all feel like family together. I feel like my work has a real impact on real people out there and this in itself motivates me to continue working with maximum effort.

Bee Keswa

Where are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?Bee
Johannesburg, South Africa, Framingham State and Cambridge College, Liberal Arts and Business.

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
If I could go anywhere in the world based in the food alone, I would go almost everywhere. I would go to China first and I would try to catch every festival they have, particularly the moon festival because they have different traditional meals for different festivals. Then I would go to India and then I would go to Spain and Italy.

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
“Beautiful Things Are Coming” because that’s what my Zulu name means. Keke Palmer will be a young me, Gabrielle Union can play the middle me, Viola Davis can play the older me and Cicely Tyson can play the Grandma me.

What were you for Halloween?
A leopard, but only because by minion costume fell flat.

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
I love everybody that I work with. I am really happy that I have a group of people that I get along with that I can ask questions to and who I hope learn from me because I definitely learn from you guys. I like the fact that we get to be so hands on and so involved in the model UN conference and the source material that the different teachers, different schools the children use and we get to see where our work goes. I also like the whirl of information and world topics that swirl around the think tank table whether about House of Cards or ISIS or displaced people; they are conversations that add something beautiful for the experience.

Celia Lao

Where are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?
I am from Panama. I went to Lindenwood University – St. Charles, Missouri. I have a B.S. in EconomicsCelia

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
Italy and Greece

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
Movie: Exploring the World -Actress: Shu Qi-Hong Kong actress-many people say I look like her.

What were you for Halloween?
Olimpia – Greek Goddess

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
Making friends from all over the world!

Sabrina Marques

Where are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?
I’m from MoSabrinaorestown, New Jersey, which is only about 20 minutes from Philadelphia. I’m a sophomore at Boston University studying International Relations!

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
This is a tough one… My entire family is Portuguese and I love Portuguese food so I’d definitely be happy to go there to eat!! Other than that, probably Barcelona, because I love tapas, or pretty much anywhere with great seafood!

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
Hmmm… I’d like it to be some kind of crazy travel adventure story, because I hope to travel a lot throughout my life, but I’m not sure what it would be called. To play me, I’m thinking maybe Audrey Hepburn when she was young. This is mostly because my parents chose to name me after watching the 1954 movie Sabrina, which she was the main character in. So I feel like I have some kind of a connection to her. She was also a UNICEF Ambassador for several years, and I think that’s really cool.

What were you for Halloween?
I was Kelly Kapowski from Saved by the Bell!

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
I really love seeing how all the work and research the education interns do directly impacts the programs! Kids use our materials and learn from them, and that’s a really cool thing to observe and take in. It’s also just really inspiring to see so many young students interested in global affairs.

Tuaha Mubarak

TuahaWhere are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?
From Lahore, Pakistan, Boston University Graduate, Studied Business Administration

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
The south of France because cheese.

What would a movie based on your life be called and who would play you?
Title: He Made Fetch Happen. The hope is that by the time I am 70 I will have made enough positive contributions to humanity that people will say, “He Made Fetch Happen.” Manny from Modern Family will play me.

What were you for Halloween?
A Formal Apology. I wore a suit and had an “I’m Sorry” sign around me. Get it? Formal Apology?

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
The fun, passionate, and diverse intern team. We all have such different backgrounds, which means that we learn something new every day.

Adelaide Sargent

Where are you from, where do you go to school, what are you studying?Adelaide
I’m from Gardner, Massachusetts (and technically Guatemala), I go to Northeastern University, and I study International Affairs with concentration in Middle Eastern Studies, Arabic, Linguistics, and Psychology.

Based on the food alone, where in the world do you most want to visit?
The entire Mediterranean… Spain, North Africa, Lebanon, Greece, France… I couldn’t possibly pick.

What were you for Halloween?
I was Black Swan. Not, as a roommate suggested, a duck.

What do you love the most about interning at UNAGB?
The free coffee, granola bars, M&Ms…just kidding. But those are an important perk for sure. My real answer is probably the work environment our bosses create. Everyone’s so encouraging and helpful all the time.

About UNA-GB

Founded over sixty years ago, the United Nations Association of Greater Boston (UNA-GB) is dedicated to building understanding of and support for the ideals and work of the UN among the Greater Boston community. We serve as a resource on the broad agenda of critical global issues addressed by the United Nations and its agencies: peacekeeping, human rights, humanitarian relief, economic development, and education.

Posted on December 1, 2015, in Internships at UNA-GB, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

