Welcome Summer Interns!

Meet our amazing team for the summer! They have already been hard at work in the office and are ready to kick off the MUN camp next week.


Joon Choi, EducationJOON

Hometown: Princeton, NJ
School: Boston University, graduating in 2017
Major: International Relations with a concentration in Foreign Policy/Security Studies focusing in Asia. Minoring in European Studies

Favorite Place You Have TraveledSpain
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Intended Career: Involved with UN and Foreign Policy development or Diplomacy

Fun Fact or Hobby: I started playing soccer and cello both at the age of 5 and am still pursuing them today at BU.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Jessika Nebrat, Education0

Hometown: Wichita, KS
School: Sophomore at Harvard University
Major: Government

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: Barcelona, Spain
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: My dream vacation would be to take several months and just travel around Europe, staying with friends, getting to visit historic sites, and getting to know a bit about the culture and essence of each place I’d visit. I would also try to plan challenges and adventures along the way, like biking through Ireland, skiing in the Alps, or rock-climbing in France.
Intended Career: I hope to work for the American Foreign Service, as a diplomat or ambassador to other nations. I would also like to work with developing parts of the world in making their advances in a sustainable manner, and in one that improves the lives of the respective nation’s citizens.

Fun Fact or Hobby: I love exploring the outdoors, through hiking, skiing, rock-climbing, and more. Some of my favorite adventures have been hiking up a mountain in 7ft. of snow to a yurt, cliff-jumping in Guatemala, and climbing an active volcano to make s’mores at the top.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Joy Cohen, Education & Graphicsunnamed

Hometown: New Haven, Connecticut
School: Senior at Boston University
Major: International Relations with a concentration in Cultural Anthropology & Regional Politics in the Middle East & North Africa

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: The Amazon Rainforest in Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: Cairo, Egypt or Mumbai
Intended Career: Working in resource attainment in schools abroad

Fun Fact or Hobby: My hobbies include writing, web design, consuming coffee, and yoga

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Chloe Singer, EducationIMG_0767.JPG

Hometown: Arlington, MA
School: Sophomore at Skidmore College
Major: Government

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: I loved going to Budapest, Hungary. It’s such a beautiful city with a long and interesting history.
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: I’d love to go to Dubai!
Intended Career: Consultant for Political Media

Fun Fact or Hobby: I’m very interested and passionate about American politics and have worked with other students and groups on policy projects at the state level. I also work for a representative on Beacon Hill.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Vineet Chandra, EducationVINEET

Hometown: Concord, MA
School: Sophomore at University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
Major: Economics, Minor in Computer Science

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: Hilton Head, SC
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: Road trip across Europe/Coast-to-Coast USA
Intended Career: Lawyer
Fun Fact or Hobby: I am a huge car guy!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Rayan Atallah, unnamedEducation

Hometown: Tyre, Lebanon
School: Sophomore at Northeastern University
Major: International Affairs, due to all of my travels

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: All my life, I have been living in different countries, which has shaped my interests in many ways. Out of all the places I’ve been to, my favorite city is Cairo, Egypt.
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: One city I’d really like to visit is Berlin, Germany.
Intended Career:  I hope in the future to work for an organization like the United Nations or the World Bank, as I hope for a job where I travel often

Fun Fact or Hobby: A hobby of mine is playing bass guitar.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Daniela Sànchez-GalvisDANIELA, Education

Hometown: Bogotá, Colombia
School: Senior at Boston University
Major: Political Science and Sociology

Favorite Place You Have TraveledIstanbul, Turkey
Dream Vacation or Travel DestinationI would love to go to Thailand and Laos.
Intended Career: Either a diplomatic career with the Colombian Government, or non-profit work.

Fun Fact or Hobby: I am part of the varsity Women’s Golf Team at Boston University!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Samantha PacorSam, Education

Hometown: I am from a small town called Wrentham, MA, which is south of Boston.
School: Junior at Boston University
Major: International Relations and Political Science, with a concentration in foreign policy and security studies.

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: My favorite place I have visited is the Grand Canyon in Arizona. It was so beautiful and we took a helicopter ride over the canyon.
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: I can’t wait to study abroad in London my junior year. I also would love to travel to New Zealand and Australia someday.
Intended Career: I hope to work in counterterrorism or possibly as a diplomat. Another goal of mine is to work for a think tank such as the Council on Foreign Relations researching security and the refugee crisis.

Fun Fact or Hobby: I am learning guitar and Italian this summer and want to learn a lot more languages in the future. I also love Boston sports and watching movies.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Brianna Pintauro, EducationBrianna

Hometown: Fairfield, CT
School: Senior at Plymouth State University
Major: Political Science Minors: Spanish and Peace & Social Justice Studies

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: Munich, Germany
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: Bali, Indonesia
Intended Career: Working high up in the United Nations or being a U.S. Ambassador to a Latin American country

Fun Fact or Hobby: I have been to 15 different countries in the past 3 years.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Bridget IrelandBRIDGET, Event Planning

Hometown: Moultonborough, NH
School: Sophomore at St. Lawrence University
Major: Global Studies and Environmental Studies

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: Florence, Italy
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: I hope to be able to travel around Europe, as Ireland, UK, Greece, and the parts of Italy I haven’t had a chance to visit are all on the bucket list. I also want to see New Zealand!
Intended Career: An NGO organization focused on women’s education or environmental issues.

Fun Fact or Hobby: I have studied French in high school, a semester of Italian last fall and am planning on taking Arabic this coming year. Although I’m not particularly good at languages my goal is to be able to be able to strike up a basic conversation!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Zenzele Best11425174_10203146001049432_9203201985899846616_n, Programming Department
Hometown: Boston, MA
School: Junior at Bowdoin College
Major: Government and Legal Studies, with a concentration in International Relations

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: Costa Rica
Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: I’ve always weirdly wanted to visit Alaska.
Intended Career: I’m not entirely sure, but definitely something government related.

Fun Fact or Hobby: I’m studying abroad in Stockholm, Sweden this fall.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

DerekDerek Barros, Education Department
Hometown: Brockton, MA
School: Senior at Plymouth State University
Major: Double major in Political Science and Criminal Justice, with a minor in Sociology

Favorite Place You Have Traveled: I have done a good amount of traveling in my short 22 years of life but I would have to say my favorite destination is Costa Rica. Being inside of a valley the country is surrounded with wildlife, vegetation, and New York hustle and bustle. Once I got off the plane I felt the Costa Rican hospitality, everyone was happy and full of life. While in the city everyone you walk by says hi even though they know you are a tourist.

Dream Vacation or Travel Destination: My dream place to travel would be have the entire continent of Africa, I cannot choose one single country because I really want to experience Egypt, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Nigeria and Guinea Bissau. These countries hold so much culture and beauty that many people do not categorize usually as a “tourist attraction”. Africa has also been the source of much neglect, so it would be a great experience to see its beauty first hand.

Intended Career: My dream job would be a judge at the ICC. It would encompass both of my interests in helping people and worker as an attorney.
Fun Fact or Hobby: I like to design and make t-shirts on my free time.

About UNA-GB

Founded over sixty years ago, the United Nations Association of Greater Boston (UNA-GB) is dedicated to building understanding of and support for the ideals and work of the UN among the Greater Boston community. We serve as a resource on the broad agenda of critical global issues addressed by the United Nations and its agencies: peacekeeping, human rights, humanitarian relief, economic development, and education.

Posted on June 18, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

